Day Three Recap

I didn’t manage to make any live posts today from the range.  The shooting bays we used today were in the lower areas of the range, and I didn’t have any cell phone signal to get the messages out.

I shot pretty well today, better than on previous days.  We only shot four stages today,  but also had to visit the chronograph to measure our ammo to confirm it meets the minimum power requirements.  My division (open, major) requires a power factor (velocity x weight) of 165.  Unlike the Area 1 match last year, I made sure I had enough extra headroom in case there was some variability in my loads, and scored a 169.

Our first stage today had a ‘texas star’.  It is a star of five falling plates that can rotate on a central hub.  The star on our first stage had a couple of hard cover that limited the range where you can shoot the plates.  See a video of the texas star below.  I didn’t have any trouble with the star, but at least one other competitor managed to stop the star with two remaining plates hidden behind the hard cover.  It was quite a delema, and cost some people points.  You can also see a video of me shooting the stage below.

I stayed late at the range today and took some pictures of the super squad (the group of professional shooters) shoot one of the stages.  The pictures are not really noteworthy, but I did get a good one of Rob Leatham.  I’ve attached it below with a couple shots of guys from my squad doing speed reloads.  Notice that they are ejecting the used magazines while reaching for a replacement.  Sometimes they are so fast the flying brass from the last shot doesn’t even hit the ground. 

Tomorrow, we have three more stages in the afternoon.  I don’t know if I made up any ground in the points standings, since it is too early to get the results for day 3.

                                                             

One response to “Day Three Recap

Leave a Reply

